Sheriff's Office Home
Job Opportunities
Crime of the Week
Civil Process Service Fees
Concealed Permit
Contact Information
Juvenile Services
Inmate Information
Records Schedule
Victim and Offender Info
VIN & HIN Inspections
Child Restraint
Victim Assistance
Press Releases
Additional Information
Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) Permit

The new Wyoming Concealed Carry Law:

As of July 1, 2011, anyone who meets the same requirements to obtain a Wyoming concealed weapons permit can legally carry a firearm in any place that is not specifically prohibited. The new concealed carry law passed by the Legislature and effective July 1, 2011, will NOT permit you to carry a firearm in any other State without a valid concealed firearm permit.

For information concerning CCW permits and the requirements of W.S.6-8-104 (b) (c), please access the website:, or call 777-7181.

The Laramie County Sheriff's Office processes CCW applications for Laramie County residents Monday - Thursday 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m., and Friday 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.

Applications (with instructions) may be picked up at the Sheriff's Office Monday - Friday from 8:00a.m. - 5:00p.m.

The application process takes at least 20 minutes. Please be advised that you must check in, with a completed application, no later than 10:40 a.m. and 3:40 p.m.

The initial application fee is $79.00 (do not bring $80.00). We will accept: cash (no coins) - in the exact amount.
Money Order/Cashier's Check - made out to Laramie County Sheriff's Office.

We will check the paperwork before collecting the fee. We will then have you swear under oath that the information is correct and accurate. You will then be fingerprinted and the application will be processed.


Wyoming has reciprocity with the following states

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas Colorado Florida Georgia Idaho Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Michigan Mississippi Montana Missouri Nevada Nebraska New Hampshire New Mexico North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Pennsylvania South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Virginia West Virginia Wisconsin.